Thread: Supercar Market Update Q2 2020

Name
    Boxer

Default Supercar Market Update Q2 2020

Just posted a new karenable.com article on the Supercar Market:

https://karenable.com/supercar-market-update-q2-2020/

Comments? Thoughts?

Modificato is offline Looks like a 308 to me? -The Ferrari 288 GTO Club Member
    Name
    CPD

Very interesting read and thought provoking as usual.

I have been advancing the generational taste hypothesis for many years now and I would go even further.
    There is zero evidence that buying into childhood memories will still be a similar scale thing for the coming generations who have been immersed in far more rapid technology cycles than that of their parents. There is zero romance for old tech. Try showing a kid an old mobile phone and see exactly how long it holds their attention!

Combine this with a propensity to own nothing and value meaningful experiences over asset ownership and you have a recipe for a profound shift in the market.

My business interests include new economy things which are primarily internet based alternatives to traditional businesses. COVID has been the best business growth accelerant we have ever had in three decades of online trading. This growth represents in the most part people swapping over to something they will now stick with because the online version delivers the same or similar value with far less investment in personal time and money.

Like the best of technology it frees up more time for leisure compounded with more disposable income.

So for Supercars and HyperCars which is ironically one of the traditional ‘bricks and mortar’ businesses I am invested in where does that leave us?